Расширение и ремонт Музея сокафедрального собора Святого Иоанна

Фонд сокафедрального собора Святого Иоанна планирует осуществить капитальный ремонт музея на высоком техническом уровне и расширить его с тем, чтобы увеличить вместимость и обеспечить доступ постоянно растущего числа посетителей из числа как туристов, так и граждан Мальты. В настоящее время нет возможностей для экспонирования в музее всех бесценных артефактов с соблюдением необходимых условий консервации.

На протяжении нескольких лет Фонд работает над проектом, который позволит представить его коллекции в наилучшем свете. Среди них — все двадцать девять фламандских гобеленов, священнические облачения, коллекция серебра, иллюминированные рукописи и траурная капелла. Также нами планируется открытие центра Караваджо, посвященного жизни и творчеству самого прославленного художника эпохи барокко, чья престижная картина «Усекновение главы Иоанна Крестителя» украшает зал оратория.

Планируется обеспечить максимально продуктивное использование в настоящее время пустующих зон и выставить в одном зале всю серию уникальных фламандских гобеленов, которые сейчас представлены в разных помещениях. Будут введены в эксплуатацию системы освещения и искусственного микроклимата, а также организованы читальные зоны. Новый просторный вестибюль Музея сокафедрального собора Святого Иоанна будет оборудован удобствами для посетителей и доступом для маломобильных групп населения. Расширение музея не скажется на работе церкви, организованной таким образом, чтобы обеспечить гибкие часы работы музея, из чего следует, что бесценные экспонаты будут выставлены и сохранены на благо будущих поколений.

С расширением музея культурное достояние Валлетты станет еще богаче. Это также будет содействовать развитию культурного туризма и, следовательно, укреплению имиджа страны как универсального туристического центра с сильной культурной составляющей. Кроме того, время реконструкции совпадает с присвоением Валлетте титула Культурной столицы Европы 2018 года.

  • New musuem basement floor
  • New museum ground floor
  • New museum first floor
  • New museum second floor
  • All floors from Merchant Str.
New museum entrance artistic impression

Artistic impression of the entrance

Silver vault artistic impression

Artistic impression of the silver vaults

New museum tapestry chamber artistic impression

Artistic impression of the tapestry chamber

Choral books artistic impression

Artistic impression of the choral books chamber

The St John’s Co-Cathedral Museum Extension and Refurbishment

The St John’s Co-Cathedral Foundation has plans for the total state-of-the art refurbishment and extension of the museum to accommodate the ever-increasing amount of tourists and Maltese wanting to visit, and especially because the current layout of the museum does not exhibit all its priceless artefacts in the right conservation environment.

The Foundation has been studying this project for several years to showcase its collections. These include, amongst others, all twenty-nine Flemish Tapestries, the Sacred Vestments, the Silver Collection, the Illuminated manuscripts, and the Cappella Ardente. A Caravaggio Centre is also planned and this will focus on the life and works of the most celebrated artist of the Baroque era, whose most prestigious painting, The Beheading of St John, graces the Oratory.

The proposed enhancement will make maximum use of present vacant spaces; it will also house the one-of-a-kind Flemish tapestries series together in one hall which is presently dispersed in several rooms.  Appropriate lighting, climate control, and reading areas will also be introduced. The new and spacious entrance to St John’s Co-Cathedral Museum will provide comfortable facilities for visitors and easy accessibility for the physically challenged. The extension will have no direct impact on the church, designed is such a way that will allow flexible opening hours of the museum. Thus, priceless collections will be exhibited as well as conserved for future generations to appreciate.

The extended museum will enhance the cultural equity of Valletta. It will also strengthen the notion of cultural tourism and it will therefore contribute to the islands’ credentials as a multi-faceted destination with a strong cultural presence. In addition, this renovation ties in perfectly with the honour of having Valletta host the title of European Capital of Culture in 2018.

  • New musuem basement floor
  • New museum ground floor
  • New museum first floor
  • New museum second floor
  • All floors from Merchant Str.
New museum entrance artistic impression

Artistic impression of the entrance

Silver vault artistic impression

Artistic impression of the silver vaults

New museum tapestry chamber artistic impression

Artistic impression of the tapestry chamber

Choral books artistic impression

Artistic impression of the choral books chamber