Extension et rénovation du musée de la co-cathédrale Saint-Jean

La fondation de la co-cathédrale Saint-Jean prévoit une rénovation complète et une extension du musée afin de pouvoir accueillir le nombre croissant de touristes et de Maltais qui souhaitent découvrir la co-cathédrale, mais également parce que l’agencement actuel du musée ne permet pas de présenter tous les inestimables artéfacts de sa collection dans un environnement adéquat pour une conservation optimale.

La fondation étudie ce projet depuis plusieurs années, pour une présentation idéale des collections. Ces dernières comprennent notamment vingt-neuf tapisseries flamandes, des habits sacerdotaux, une collection d’argenterie, des manuscrits enluminés et une chapelle ardente. Un espace consacré à la vie et à l’œuvre de l’artiste le plus célébré de l’ère baroque, Le Caravage, est également prévu, puisque son tableau le plus prestigieux, La décapitation de Saint Jean-Baptiste, orne l’oratoire.

Les améliorations proposées utiliseront au maximum les espaces actuellement inoccupés et les remarquables tapisseries flamandes actuellement dispersées à travers l’exposition seront enfin réunies dans une même salle. Un éclairage approprié, un système de contrôle de l’air ambiant et des espaces de lecture sont également prévus. La nouvelle entrée spacieuse du musée de la co-cathédrale Saint-Jean sera plus agréable pour les visiteurs et offrira un accès facile pour les personnes handicapées. L’extension n’aura aucun impact direct sur l’église et sera conçue de manière à permettre des heures d’ouverture flexibles pour le musée. Ses inestimables collections seront ainsi exposées et préservées pour être découvertes et appréciées par les générations futures.

L’extension du musée constituera un enrichissement du capital culturel de La Valette. Elle renforcera également la réputation de l’archipel en tant que destination aux multiples facettes et au riche patrimoine culturel, et en renforcera par conséquent l’attrait pour les amoureux de culture. Cette rénovation cadre de plus parfaitement avec le titre de Capitale européenne de la culture que La Valette aura l’honneur de porter en 2018.

  • New musuem basement floor
  • New museum ground floor
  • New museum first floor
  • New museum second floor
  • All floors from Merchant Str.
New museum entrance artistic impression

Artistic impression of the entrance

Silver vault artistic impression

Artistic impression of the silver vaults

New museum tapestry chamber artistic impression

Artistic impression of the tapestry chamber

Choral books artistic impression

Artistic impression of the choral books chamber

The St John’s Co-Cathedral Museum Extension and Refurbishment

The St John’s Co-Cathedral Foundation has plans for the total state-of-the art refurbishment and extension of the museum to accommodate the ever-increasing amount of tourists and Maltese wanting to visit, and especially because the current layout of the museum does not exhibit all its priceless artefacts in the right conservation environment.

The Foundation has been studying this project for several years to showcase its collections. These include, amongst others, all twenty-nine Flemish Tapestries, the Sacred Vestments, the Silver Collection, the Illuminated manuscripts, and the Cappella Ardente. A Caravaggio Centre is also planned and this will focus on the life and works of the most celebrated artist of the Baroque era, whose most prestigious painting, The Beheading of St John, graces the Oratory.

The proposed enhancement will make maximum use of present vacant spaces; it will also house the one-of-a-kind Flemish tapestries series together in one hall which is presently dispersed in several rooms.  Appropriate lighting, climate control, and reading areas will also be introduced. The new and spacious entrance to St John’s Co-Cathedral Museum will provide comfortable facilities for visitors and easy accessibility for the physically challenged. The extension will have no direct impact on the church, designed is such a way that will allow flexible opening hours of the museum. Thus, priceless collections will be exhibited as well as conserved for future generations to appreciate.

The extended museum will enhance the cultural equity of Valletta. It will also strengthen the notion of cultural tourism and it will therefore contribute to the islands’ credentials as a multi-faceted destination with a strong cultural presence. In addition, this renovation ties in perfectly with the honour of having Valletta host the title of European Capital of Culture in 2018.

  • New musuem basement floor
  • New museum ground floor
  • New museum first floor
  • New museum second floor
  • All floors from Merchant Str.
New museum entrance artistic impression

Artistic impression of the entrance

Silver vault artistic impression

Artistic impression of the silver vaults

New museum tapestry chamber artistic impression

Artistic impression of the tapestry chamber

Choral books artistic impression

Artistic impression of the choral books chamber