圣约翰大教堂博物馆的扩建与翻修工程

圣约翰大教堂基金会计划用最先进的技术对博物馆进行翻修扩建,以接待日益增多的外地游客和本地参观者,而更重要的原因是以其现有布局无法在合适的保存环境下展出全部文物珍品。

数年以来,基金会一直在研究如何合理陈列博物馆的藏品。这些藏品包括29幅弗拉芒挂毯、圣衣、银器、泥金手抄本和烛光灵柩台。本工程项目还包括修建一座卡拉瓦乔中心,用于介绍这位巴洛克时期最著名艺术家的生平与作品。祈祷室里饰有他最为著名的画作《被斩首的圣约翰》。

本工程将最大程度地利用现有的可用空间,并且将举世无双的弗拉芒挂毯集中在一个大展厅展出(目前这些挂毯分散在几个展厅内)。不仅如此,博物馆还将增加适宜的照明系统、空调系统和阅读区间。圣约翰大教堂博物馆的新建入口非常宽敞,将为游客提供各种便利设施,并为残障人士提供无障碍环境。扩建不会对教堂产生直接影响,工程安排会让博物馆的开放时间更加灵活。本项目能使我们合理展出与妥善保存无价的艺术珍品,让我们的子孙后代也能欣赏其丰采。

经过扩建的博物馆不仅会为瓦莱塔带来更多文化资产,也会增强文化旅游的概念,让马耳他成为文化底蕴浓厚的多元化旅游目的地。此外,这项扩建翻新工程也与瓦莱塔作为2018年欧洲文化之都的殊荣相得益彰。

  • New musuem basement floor
  • New museum ground floor
  • New museum first floor
  • New museum second floor
  • All floors from Merchant Str.
New museum entrance artistic impression

Artistic impression of the entrance

Silver vault artistic impression

Artistic impression of the silver vaults

New museum tapestry chamber artistic impression

Artistic impression of the tapestry chamber

Choral books artistic impression

Artistic impression of the choral books chamber

The St John’s Co-Cathedral Museum Extension and Refurbishment

The St John’s Co-Cathedral Foundation has plans for the total state-of-the art refurbishment and extension of the museum to accommodate the ever-increasing amount of tourists and Maltese wanting to visit, and especially because the current layout of the museum does not exhibit all its priceless artefacts in the right conservation environment.

The Foundation has been studying this project for several years to showcase its collections. These include, amongst others, all twenty-nine Flemish Tapestries, the Sacred Vestments, the Silver Collection, the Illuminated manuscripts, and the Cappella Ardente. A Caravaggio Centre is also planned and this will focus on the life and works of the most celebrated artist of the Baroque era, whose most prestigious painting, The Beheading of St John, graces the Oratory.

The proposed enhancement will make maximum use of present vacant spaces; it will also house the one-of-a-kind Flemish tapestries series together in one hall which is presently dispersed in several rooms.  Appropriate lighting, climate control, and reading areas will also be introduced. The new and spacious entrance to St John’s Co-Cathedral Museum will provide comfortable facilities for visitors and easy accessibility for the physically challenged. The extension will have no direct impact on the church, designed is such a way that will allow flexible opening hours of the museum. Thus, priceless collections will be exhibited as well as conserved for future generations to appreciate.

The extended museum will enhance the cultural equity of Valletta. It will also strengthen the notion of cultural tourism and it will therefore contribute to the islands’ credentials as a multi-faceted destination with a strong cultural presence. In addition, this renovation ties in perfectly with the honour of having Valletta host the title of European Capital of Culture in 2018.

  • New musuem basement floor
  • New museum ground floor
  • New museum first floor
  • New museum second floor
  • All floors from Merchant Str.
New museum entrance artistic impression

Artistic impression of the entrance

Silver vault artistic impression

Artistic impression of the silver vaults

New museum tapestry chamber artistic impression

Artistic impression of the tapestry chamber

Choral books artistic impression

Artistic impression of the choral books chamber