圣约翰大教堂的历史-马耳他骑士团的遗产

大总督让•德•拉•卡西埃于1572年决定建立圣约翰医院骑士团的修道院教堂,由著名马耳他军事建筑师杰罗拉莫卡•萨尔设计,圣约翰联合教堂的矗立是独特的和有国际重要性的纪念碑。该教堂是献给圣施洗约翰,骑士团的守护神。

骑士们来自欧洲重要的贵族家庭,他们的任务是保护不断受到奥斯曼土耳其人攻击的天主教信仰。在1565年,骑士团成功卫冕奥斯曼帝国大围攻马耳他小岛后,他们把马耳他变成军事骑士团的堡垒,并建立了适合杰出贵族的新首都,把新城“瓦莱塔”中央的地方留给他们的教堂。

圣约翰大教堂在1577年建成。两侧大钟楼外观简朴,有堡垒的特色,反映了大围攻后骑士团肃穆的情绪。中殿53米长,宽15米,两边排列分出小教堂。这些教堂是根据语言给不同的语言骑士团。法国,

意大利和阿拉贡骑士团,由于重要身份,教堂位置最接近祭坛。17世纪初迎来了新巴洛克风格的潮流,大总督科托内尔下令教堂内部的重新装修。

骑士们热切的想要展示罗马教堂的伟大, 通过丰富的材料来展示炫耀华丽的时代特色。他们捐赠了高艺术价值的礼品。通过慷慨的捐款和和使用当时最杰出艺术家的最好作品来丰富它。卡拉布里亚画家马蒂亚•普雷蒂,受到委托完成教堂装饰。他把教堂内部装饰变成了庆祝巴洛克艺术的庆典。正是这种内部装修极有欢庆气氛的和教堂简单朴素外观鲜明的对比,使得圣约翰大教堂成为一个独特的建筑。

在1798年7月12日骑士忍痛将马耳他岛让给拿破仑•波拿巴将军,也留给他们修道院教堂。正是在这个时候,修道院教堂演变成了联合大教堂。法国在1800年投降,英国总督很快接管该岛。骑士团执政特权转给了英国总督,这些特权之一,是接管圣约翰教堂。

在19世纪,法国教堂成为基督教狂热分子的主要目标,一场励志改革基督艺术,完全消灭巴洛克风格的运动张开了序幕。当地的朱塞佩希茲勒(1787年至1858年),是基督艺术改革运动中无可争议的领导者。他的改革热情促使他立即除去了圣约翰联合大教堂中法国教堂里可能是最有艺术意义的祭坛。在他的指令下,教堂的坟墓纪念碑也要改掉,当时大总督德•罗汉的纪念碑在这个运动中遭受到了损伤。在1840年夏天的强烈抗议下,当局停止了进一步放的破坏。

1941年,第二次世界大战期间,圣约翰联合教堂在瓦莱塔的轰炸中遭到严重破坏。教堂在招商街的阳台部分遭受到最严重的损坏,教堂险遭湮灭。

宝座一直矗立着,而总督们都离开了马耳他。

今天,圣约翰是文化活动的场所,也是在马耳他游客参观最热门的文化景点之一。它是由圣约翰联合教堂基金会管理,该基金会成立于2001年,以保证教堂和博物馆的保存和养护。

History of St John’s – a legacy of the Knights of Malta

Commissioned in 1572 by Grand Master Jean de la Cassière as the conventual church of the Order of the Knights Hospitaller of St John and designed by the celebrated Maltese military architect Gerolamo Cassar, St John’s Co-Cathedral stands as a unique monument of international importance. The church is dedicated to St John the Baptist, the patron saint of the Order.

The Knights were noblemen from the most important families of Europe, and their mission was to protect the Catholic faith from the attacks of the Ottoman Turks. After defending the tiny island of Malta from the Ottomans in the Great Siege of 1565, they turned Malta into a fortress that befitted a military Order and built a new capital city worthy of noblemen. Pride of place in the centre of the new city ‘Valletta’ was reserved for their Church.

Building was completed on St John’s in 1577. The plain façade flanked by two large bell towers is austere and has the character of a fortress reflecting the sober mood of the Order after the Great Siege. The nave is 53 metres in length and 15 metres wide with side chapels on either side. These chapels were assigned to the various langues according to seniority. The French, Italian and Aragonese langues, being prominent, were placed closest to the altar.

As the dawn of the 17th century ushered in the new Baroque style, Grand Master Cotoner ordered the redecoration of the Church’s interior.

The Knights were eager to rival the great churches of Rome and the era’s flamboyant and demonstrative character provided ample material. They donated gifts of high artistic value and made enormous contributions to enrich it with only the best works of art by leading artists available to them. The Calabrian artist Mattia Preti, who was commissioned the work, transformed the interior into a celebration of Baroque art. It is the contrast between the simple and sober façade of the building with the festive mood of the interior that makes St John’s such a unique monument.

On the 12 July 1798, the Knights reluctantly ceded the Islands to General Napoleon Bonaparte and, in so doing, left their conventual church. It was at this time that the church was made into a Co-Cathedral. The French capitulated in 1800 and the British Governor soon took over the island. The same privileges enjoyed by the ruling Knights were reserved for the British Governor and, one of these privileges, was the church of St John’s.

In the 19th century, the chapel of the French Langue was the main target of Nazarener fanaticism, a movement that aspired to reform Christian art and wipe out the memory of the previous Baroque efflorescence. St John’s was entrusted to Giuseppe Hyzler (1787-1858), the local undisputed leader of the Nazarener movement. In his reforming zeal he immediately set upon the French Chapel by removing what may have very well been the most artistically interesting altar in St John’s. Under his direction, even the sepulchral monuments in the chapel were to be reformed and some damage had already been wreaked on the monument to Grand Master de Rohan when a strong protest in the summer of 1840 led the authorities to halt the attack.

In 1941, during the Second World War, St John’s Co-Cathedral suffered severe damage as a result of a bombing attack over Valletta. Part of the Loggia on Merchants Street suffered most as the church narrowly escaped total annihilation.

Fortunately, the contents had been transferred elsewhere in good time.

Since 1974, the Bishop’s throne has stood in place of that once intended for the Grand Masters and their successors – the British Governors – who had now also left Malta.

Today, St John’s is also a venue for cultural events and is one of the most popular cultural attractions visited by tourists in Malta. It is administered by the St John’s Co-Cathedral Foundation, which was set up in 2001 to ensure the church’s and museum’s conservation.