关于骑士 – 君主骑士团历史

骑士团的起源来自被称做罗得岛和马耳他岛的耶路撒冷圣约翰医院骑士团,源自公元1050年。当时阿马尔菲共和国得到埃及哈里发王阿里•查希尔的允许在耶路撒冷建立救济院,教堂和修道院,为任何信仰和种族的朝圣者提供治疗和护理。救济院建在施洗者圣约翰修道院的遗址上,由本笃会的修士们操持。

在第一次十字军东征之后,在创始人杰拉德的率领下,1113年,教宗帕斯卡尔二世颁发教宗诏书批准医院和骑士团的成立。在教皇的支持下,骑士团(现在被称为耶路撒冷圣约翰量骑士团)有权自由选择首领,不受其他世俗政权和宗教权威的干扰。

圣地失守后,骑士团转移到塞浦路斯王国。骑士团迅速融入该国的政治中并将目光投向罗得岛作为自己的新家。 1310年,大总督福克斯•蒂•维拉雷特通过两年努力成功占领了一些地区和一些邻近岛屿。

为了在不断的巴巴里海盗的掳掠,埃及人和奥斯曼大军的威胁中生存,骑士团被迫变成一个军事组织,创建了一个强大的海军舰队。

到了14世纪初,骑士团成员按地区分组(这些组被称为“LANGUES’ 语言之意)。七个最初语言分为普罗旺斯,奥弗涅,法国,意大利,阿拉贡(纳瓦拉),英格兰(苏格兰和爱尔兰)和德国。1492年卡斯蒂利亚和

骑士团失去了领土后,在欧洲各个地方游荡了7年。直到1530年,罗马帝国皇帝,西班牙国王查理五世,把当时下属西班牙西西里总督管辖下的马耳他群岛和北非港口黎波里,作为封地赠给了骑士团,并以每年象征性的从骑士团收取一只马耳他猎鹰作为报酬。

有了新的基地和少数的船只, 骑士很快再一次成为奥斯曼帝国的眼中钉。时间不久, 苏莱曼聚集了4万8千兵士和他的精英勇士开始大举入侵。1565年,土耳其人抵达马耳他,展开了马耳他大围攻。 这次大围攻造就了历史上最伟大的胜利。在大总督让•派瑞索特•德•瓦莱特的领导下,700骑士,2000士兵和3000名马耳他的民兵以及为数不多的仆人和奴隶组成的抵抗力量,经过三个月奋勇抵抗,在双方力量巨大悬殊的情况下,取得了最后的胜利。

在1565年继大围攻之后,骑士团致力把马耳他打造成军事骑士团的堡垒,并要为杰出的贵族们建立新的首都。瓦莱特奠定了以他名字命名的新首都的第一块基石,并在城市中心的中心规划建立圣约翰大教堂,作为骑士团的教堂。骑士团的舰队,成为在地中海地区最强大的力量。它在1571年勒班陀战役中, 为毁灭奥斯曼海军力量做出直接的贡献。

骑士团的规章中禁止骑士拿起武器反对其他基督徒,正是由于这个限制, 拿破仑•波拿巴在他远征埃及的过程中占领了马耳他岛。最初,骑士根据拿破仑的要求同意提供一个安全的港湾补给他的船队。但是拿破仑登上岛后,便把矛头指向岛的主人。他把马耳他据尔己有并且迫使骑士们离开。英军在1800年占领马耳他,虽然马耳他岛的主权在1802年的亚眠条约中提出归还主权给骑士团,但是骑士团并不允许返回马而他。

到了19世纪初,骑士团的力量已经被严重削弱。骑士团从1805年到1879年一直处在中尉控制下,直到教皇利奥十三世为了支持骑士团的复兴恢复了骑士团大总督的领导地位。复兴的骑士团总部设在罗马, 是一个人道主义和宗教组织,被称为马耳他主权军事骑士团。

在第一次世界大战和第二次世界大战中骑士团开展了大量的医疗和慈善活动。 当时的总督是弗拉•卢多维科•基吉•德拉•罗维尔•阿尔巴尼。 骑士团一直是个天主教组织,根据国际法享有主权主权并且被授予联合国永久观察员地位。

About the Knights – History of a Sovereign Order

The origins of the Order, which is known as the Knights Hospitaller of Saint John of Jerusalem, of Rhodes, and of Malta, date back to around 1050 when the Republic of Amalfi obtained permission from Caliph Ali az-Zahir of Egypt to build a hospice in Jerusalem along with a church and convent to offer treatment and care to pilgrims of any faith or race. The hospice was built on the site of the monastery of Saint John the Baptist and was served by Benedictine brothers.

Following the First Crusade, and under the guidance of its founder, the Blessed Gerrard, the establishment of the Hospital and its Order was approved by a Papal Bull issued by Pope Paschal II in 1113. Placed under the aegis of the Holy See, the community (now known as The Order of Saint John of Jerusalem) had the right to freely elect its superiors without any interference by other secular or religious authorities.

After the Holy Land fell, the Order moved to the Kingdom of Cyprus. Fast becoming entangled in the kingdom’s politics, the Order set its sights on the island of Rhodes as its new home. In 1310, Grand Master Fulkes de Villaret completed a successful two year campaign to capture the territory as well as a number of neighbouring islands.

To survive the constant threats of Barbary pirates, the Egyptians and the Ottoman forces, the Order was forced to become even more of a military organisation and created a powerful naval fleet.

By the early 14th Century, the members of the Order were grouped according to regions (these groups were known as ‘Langues’). The seven initial Langues were Provence, Auvergne, France, Italy, Aragon (Navarre), England (with Scotland and Ireland) and Germany. In 1492 Castille and Portugal split off from the Langue of Aragon and constituted the eighth Langue. Each Langue included the Priories, Bailiwicks and Commanderies. The Order was governed by its Grand Master and the Council. It also minted its own money.

In 1522, an invading armada of 400 ships under the command of Sultan Suleiman descended upon the Order in Rhodes. Against a force of 200,000 Ottomans, the Knights, under Grand Master Philippe Villiers de L’Isle-Adam, had about 7,000 men-at-arms. Six months of siege ended with the brave Knights finally surrendering. The survivors were allowed to leave Rhodes with military honours, so they retreated to Sicily in 1523.

The Order had lost its territory and spent 7 years moving from place to place throughout Europe until, in 1530, the Holy Roman Emperor, King Charles V of Spain, gave the Knights the Maltese Islands and the North African port of Tripoli as fief, under the overlordship of the Spanish Viceroy of Sicily. The annual fee for the island was a single Maltese falcon.

From their new base and small number of ships, the Knights were soon proving to be a thorn in the side of the Ottomans once again. It wasn’t long before Suleiman gathered another massive invasion force of about 48,000 men, including some of his elite warriors. In 1565, the Turks invaded Malta. What became known as The Great Siege of Malta resulted in one of the greatest victories in history for an undermanned and vastly outnumbered defence force. Under the inspired leadership of Grand Master Jean Parisot de Valette, 700 Knights, 2,000 professional soldiers and 3,000 militia drafted in from the Maltese population and a handful of servants and slaves fought valiantly for three months until victory was secured.

Also in the year 1565, following the Great Siege, it seems that the Knights vowed to turn Malta into a fortress that befitted a military Order with a capital city worthy of so illustrious a group of noblemen. The foundation stone was laid by Valette for the city which would bear his name, and pride of place in the centre of the city was reserved for St John’s, the Church of the Order.

The fleet of the Order, becoming one of the most powerful in the Mediterranean region, contributed to the ultimate destruction of the Ottoman naval power in the battle of Lepanto in 1571.

The Rule of the Order, meaning that the Knights were prohibited to bear arms against fellow Christians, was ultimately to prove their downfall in Malta when Napoleon Bonaparte occupied the island during his Egyptian campaign. Initially, the Knights granted Napoleon’s request for a safe harbour to resupply his ships, but once on the island, he turned on his hosts and claimed Malta as his own and the Knights were forced to leave the island. The British occupied Malta in 1800, but although the sovereign rights of the Order had been recognised with the Treaty of Amiens (1802), the Order was never allowed to return to Malta.

By the beginning of the 19th century, the Order had been severely weakened. Government of the Order fell under control of Lieutenants from 1805 to 1879 until Pope Leo XIII restored a Grand Master to take leadership of the Order and signaled a revival of the Order’s fortunes. The revived Order established its headquarters in Rome as a humanitarian and religious organisation and became known as the Sovereign Military Order of Malta.

Large-scale hospitaller and charitable activities were carried out during World Wars I and II under Grand Master Fra’ Ludovico Chigi della Rovere Albani. The Order remains a Catholic organisation which claims sovereignty under international law and has been granted permanent observer status at the United Nations.